What did I learn from thee?

I’m not new to blogging when I started Muses and Mumbles, but these fifteen weeks of blogging was entirely a different experience. Sure, it’s very (very) demanding, but we just have to get something from it for us to appreciate its value – learnings we can apply anytime we may need/want to blog.

Let me count the lessons.

1. Blogging is a personal activity.
It may be required, but our blogs aren’t company websites. There must be some insight in the content to make it yours, plus, blogging reflects the depth by which we understand something, our passion for what we write for, and our angles of interest on certain topics. And while blogging is a personal activity…

2. …To blog is to be responsible for your content.
Blogging might be private thoughts translated to typewritten words, but the platform is obviously public; thus, other people can see your blog and your insights. To be blog-responsible means two things: (1) to be able to provide readers of the same interest with worthwhile content, and (2) to not step on anyone’s rights or feelings on posts, most especially if they can’t defend themselves on the same platform at once.

3. Blogging is form and substance combined.
While it’s a shame that most people can’t stand long blogs, e.g., my blog (but they look so short in Notepad!), it’s my responsibility to put breakers, bullets and numbering, photos, Youtube embeds, etc, to make sure information is divided into logical parts, thus better conveyed. It’s also my part to use a sans serif font for the body to lessen eye strain (thanks to Sir Chong for this tip).

4. Blogging requires discipline.
Yes, discipline in terms of blog updates. People subscribe to and expect from blogs which are aligned with their interests, so we have to do our share by updating and writing posts on a regular basis. It’s difficult to update every week, but keeping the ultimate goal in mind (e.g, personal branding, good grades, or as a tactic in keeping customers) helps.

5. Blogging about something you are half-interested with makes it all the more difficult.
I have to admit that at the onset, I was quite excited to blog because I thought it would be easy, given my internship experience. Wrong. By the middle of the semester, I wanted to blog just about my near-death experiences on my way to school, or the life lessons I pick up from my thesis class, or a series of defense against people who don’t like Taylor Swift’s new single.

Now, imagine people who are paid to blog for companies. How boring would it be for them to write about similar topics every now and then. The key, I believe, is to be interested with the blog’s umbrella topic – when we’re interested with something, it just comes out from us like second nature, and we begin to look at it in depth and are able to share more. It would definitely be hard to keep a travel blog if bus rides don’t interest you at all.

What now?
As mentioned earlier, we are required to write 15 posts, and this is my fifteenth, so I’m closing my comm blog with the lessons I learned, which I think cut across all forms of blogging – whether personal, ‘corporate,’ or interest. I hope I am able to help anyone who comes across this post on how to be a better blogger.

What now? I’m not closing this, for sure. Probably, it will be more of an OrCom life-blog, with some social media-related posts from time to time. Regardless, I hope to find some time to update this once in a while. Weekly still, I’m crossing my fingers.

Ciao for now, though. :]

5 thoughts on “What did I learn from thee?

  1. I noticed that most of our blog posts is about our realizations regarding this requirement. Though they most of the time mirror each other, we still have our own lesson learned from this activity. I just hope that at the end of the day, most of us would continue updating their comm blog once in a while.

  2. For me, its a form of giving back. We all take benefit from the contents we find online. And I believe it is now time to return the favor others have done for us. All of us have taken something out of then million contents provided by different people and we must admit that there is minimal effort to contribute to the library of various contents. Internet usage is not only about absorbing and consuming. It is also about sharing and contributing.

    Let’s all be happy that our blogs will be of use and might somehow contribute to other people.:)

  3. I applaud you for the discipline, and can only hope (yes, hope is all we can do. haha) to be as committed and passionate about this endeavor as you are. haha

  4. Like GJ, I have to admire your discipline. Those lessons you mentioned are partly what caused me not to finish my posts though. I didn’t just look at this requirement as a requirement (I’m sure you didn’t.). What Sir Barry said of leaving digital/online footprints just really stuck with me. We share a great majority the subjects we took this semester, and we both know they’re not easy. And it’s not easy to make a conscious effort to write something that would uphold the principles we study in class. For a great deal of the time, i was very caught up with school work, and i delayed posting blogs because i didn’t want to post something just to finish the requirement. You were able to finish the requirement with a conscious effort to leave footprints that matter and will matter for a long time, and that made this blog admirable.

  5. I must say you (we) learned a lot from this blogging experience (and requirement), Mina! And congratulations because you are one of the few who managed to update your posts Saturday after Saturday.

    You’re right about blogging as a delicate social media tool given that it holds personal content placed on a public platform. We truly need to be careful and ‘blog-responsible’, as you put it. I believe we can do this by following this advice: Craft blogs in a way such that its content is worth the public’s attention and that the manner why which this is written also appeals personally to people.

Leave a Reply

